top of page
Search

Meet the Tank: Red Bricks Episode 1

I thought it would be nice to meet your CAAS board members and other club members by showcasing each others tanks. I know some of us have more than others but these days we have nothing else to do.


I started this tank in March of 2019 to raise Chrystal Red Shrimp. I was aiming to go for a Mars red planet theme. The CRS shrimp didn't survive so I threw in some rescued fish fry from a club member that turned out to some platy or mollys, all four are males. I threw in my betta and a trio of guppies. I later added some Red Cherry Shrimp but again those are slowly dwindling.


Lets talk about the rest of the tank.



Equipment:

On with the introduction. This is a standard 10 gallon tank with an incandescent hood. I have however installed two of IKEA's Tradfri Smartbulbs in it. The brackground lighting is a set of IKEA Dioder RGB lights. Filtration is based on a Matten Filter from FlipAquatics.com. I threw in a Finnex PF5 nano HOB that I was running some carbon in hoping to pull some tannin out of the water from some old Cholla wood I had in previously.


Substrate and Hardscape

The substrate is dirted. I used black gold worm castings then capped it with Aqueon's Plant and Shrimp substrate. I then threw in two simple Red Bricks


Plants:

Background left to right; Alternathea Reinicki, Limnophelia, Bacopa Caroliniana, Narrow leaf Sagitaria. Forground is Dwarf Sagitaria and S-Repens. Theres a spattering of Java Ferns.I have a mass of Hornwort floating in it.


 

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Today is the Carolina Aquatic Expo!

It's that time again, No, not to get your HVAC looked at. Its that time to go fish shopping. Come visit CAAS at the show floor. Share your pictures and let us know what you thought of the show below.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page